Canon EF 24-105 mm f4.0 vs 24-70 mm f4.0

raffal

Hello,

I m debating on which glass to choose… which one I should decide on? - pros ‘ n cons of both. Thanks ,

Rafal, Las Vegas

Ps. I already have 70-200mm f.4.0 and I like it - obviously sometimes I miss 2.8 but money wise sometimes we have to compromise-)

I have the EF 24-105mm F4L IS USM lens but I have the faster EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM. I have found that the 24-105mm lens is a great walk around lens and use it almost of the time, if not exclusively as I wonder about. The 24-105mm lens provides a reasonably wide focal length range for most situations, is fast enough certainly sharp. I use this lens indoors ant outdoors. While I have no experience with the 24-70mm f4 lens, I use my 24-70mm when I know that I will need a faster lens or the narrower focal length range such as indoors. I believe that the 24-70mm lens is sharper as well. I love both of these lenses.

Like you I also have the 70-200mm f4L IS USM lens which I also find to be a great lens.

Mick

• Like 1

With both 24-105 and 24-70 being f/4 lenses, I would go with the 24-105.

I don't know but I don't think the 24-105 is SIGNIFICANTLY larger/heavier than the 24-70. So why not the longer zoom range.

Like Mick, I prefer the longer zoom range for a GP lens. It delays when you need to switch to a longer lens.

If the 24-70 was the f/2.8 lens, then I would say BOTH. For different reasons.

The 24-70/2.8 for the extra speed, in lower light. Sometimes that extra stop does make a difference.

As for the 70-200/4, for me, more so than cost, was the weight difference between the f/4 and f/2.8 lenses. The f/4 was HALF the weight of the f/2.8 lens, and for an old man, that makes a difference.

• Like 1

What other lens(es) do you have?

What Camera(s) do you have?

What type of Photography do you do?

WW