in upstate NY from NYC. I have looked into the dumping of used

chemicals into the septic system and decided it's something I should

not do.

My question is to owners of septic systems...what do you do with

your used chemicals????

My wife says go digital but I can't find a place for a compact flash

thing on my M6! (sorry, poor joke).

Thank you for your time.

Silver metal in the fixer might be a problem. If so, just reclaim the silver with steel wool and then dilute the residue and dump it slowly.

Very few people seem to have problems with septic tanks being hurt by photochemicals. It seems that the chemistry, if diluted and dumped slowly, is rather harmless - as long is silver metal is limited.

Ron Mowrey

My home is on a septic system and I dump everything directly down the drain except fixer. I remove the dissolved silver from the fixer with an electrolytic cell (Silver Magnet) and then dump that, too. The fixer, I mean. I've been doing this for nearly 10 years with no problems.

I believe selenium toner could harm the bacteria in the septic tank, but you can use it to exhaustion and that will remove nearly all the selenium.

Color bleach-fix is another matter, as it can not be used in the Silver Magnet. When I accumulate a couple of gallons of the stuff, I take to a cooperative local 1-hour lab to add to their waste stream.

You risk killing the bacteria (ie the functionality) of the septic system. Smelly and expensive, been there done that.

Save your chems, including your wash water, and dump it on somebody else's property by dark of night.

If you aren't kind to the little beasties in your septic system you'll repeatedly have to reinvent them after pumping the system. But what the hell, plumbers have to make livings too!

My darkroom is in my shop and I've designed it to not be on our septic system. What I've

done is to route my drain directly into a drain field of my own making. The drain pipe