single use developer

walterh

hello ,

please advice me for this.

i want to develop BW at a restricted space and only occasionally.

therefore i would prefer a one time developer that is discarded after

use. to cut cost i prefer do prepare the stock solution myself since

the chemicals are very cheap and i have facilities to do that well.

please comment on the shelf life if stored in squeeze bottle. stop

bath and fixer - for these i got no problems.

i want best tonal range with no compromize - if thats not possible

then i have have to settle for another way. films will be 120 film ,

most 400asa ilford (unless the new neopan fuji will convince me of

the better)

thanks for commenting.

cheers

walter

As far as a single use developer, I would say that PMK pyro would be a good choice. A kit from Artcraft will cost about $21.00 (U.S.) or you can mix your own from dry chemicals that you weigh out. It has a very long shelf life and works well for enlarging with your 120. It tends to give a very good print when all is done properly.

For a fixer, you may consider a dry mix chemical as well, so you don't have to worry about shelf life, just mix what you need and keep track of the number of rolls as it ages. Use the snip test with the leader to check activity level and dispose of when it is time.

I would consider Rodinal (or JandC equivalent) or concentrated HC-110 since you're in MF; any of them lasts for years.

Fixer, if you do not care for fast, is the easiest thing to mix - you can do it by volume, not even need a scale.

About HC-110 see:

http://www.covingtoninnovations.com/hc110/index.html

You may consider also a water stopbath in lieu of an acid one. One less thing to mix/keep.