Hello all;

I've been doing some grey scale testing with Kodak 400TX developed in

1:15 Edwal FG-7 w/ 9% Sodium Sulfite solution. Looking at the negs

(and contact sheets) it is apparent that there are some odd "bubbly"

sort of edge markings. Looking over my last 80 rolls, this has never

been an issue before.

I've got two ideas as to what the problem is. First, the obvious, is

that it's ball bearings on my patterson plastic reels. Second, it is

something to do with the FG-7 and Sodium Sulfite.

This is my first time using FG-7, as well as my first crack at Tri-X,

while my reels have never shown themselves to be defective. So it's

difficult to figure out where the problem is. I've scanned two

contact printed images so that you can see what I'm talking about.

They are the worst examples, but other frames are effected as well.

I've uploaded them into my portfolio (as I can't figure out how to

post them in this message :). If anyone wants to take a look, I'd

very much appreciate it.

My procedure is as follows:

- 2 x 120 rolls 400TX in Patterson tank

- 2 min pre-soak at 68F

- 6.5 min developing in Edwal FG-7 with 9% sodium sulfite at 68F,

agitation is 30 sec initial, followed by 6 inversions in 10 sec every

minute.

- 30 sec kodak stop bath, constant agitation

- 4 min kodak rapid fixer, frequent agitiation (10s every 30s)

- 1 min constant agitation in water

- 1 min constant agitation in Heico perma wash

- 10 min constant agitation in water

- rinse with distilled water

- hang to dry overnight

Does this ring a bell with anyone? Any ideas on how I can avoid this

happening in the future? I've got 3 nice rolls of 400TX that I shot

last week that I really don't want to have any issues with, so

they're going to sit in the drawer until I can get this sorted out!

Thanks in advance for any thoughts you may have,

Marco