AC Generator for Studio packs on location

timberwolf1

I am aware of the brands for generators: Honda, Generac, Coleman,

etc. What are your working experiences with these generators and

using equipment that may have a microprocessor in it such as a

Speedotron Force 10 mono light? Are the larger 7,500 watt

units "clean power" enough to power a microprocessor safely? What do

you know about using generators on location?

Timber Borcherding timberborcherding

I've not used a generator with any kind of photographic equiptment, but from experience in a former life as a system admin, I'd advise any (relatively) sensative electronics should probably not be pluged directly into a generator, as they have notoriously "dirty" (read inconsitant) power. I've never tried this with photo equiptment, but you might try a UPS system like you'd see on a computer. You'd have even, consistant power, and a few pops after you run out of gas, and goodness knows unexpected things like that _never_ happen on location.

Peter

Our 4000W Generac is a 2 pole 3600Rpm unit driven by a 8Hp 4 cycle Briggs. It is loud; like a lawn mower. The output is a nice sine wave; it has been used to run power supplies that drive my ham radios; and also run my computers. I have used the home generator during blackouts to get on the internet; get email; post on this board; do Photoshop; watch local TV; fire up the microwave; and even run a dinky window AC..One can view the sinewave output with a scope. Overloading a generator will droop the voltage; usually the breaker will then trip....I try to run the generator here every other month; they need usage to prevent the carbs from getting gummed up...<BR><BR><BR>The super quiet small/dinky cute HONDA's are great for swap meets; where the provide small lightweigh portable power; without driving your neighbors nuts. They are super quiet; but are real expensive for the power output<BR><BR>larger Hondas are quiet too.