Which film + dev for high contrast landscape?

aki_dick

Hello there!<p>I'm going to south east Turkey next month and I want

to shoot mainly in 35 mm B+W. Due to nocturnal curfew this will be

around noon in direct sunlight.<br>Furthermore I want to develop the

negs myself. I have no experience with that, but after going through

lots of threads here I think Rodinal is a good start, versatile and

fool-proof enough for me.<br>Of course I want to try out both film

and developing in advance.<p>So my question: which film is best to

use to handle very high contrast and ideally goes well with Rodinal?

<br>And how to develop the film (EI, dilution, time)?<br>Ultra fine

grain and speed are not that relevant to me, I'd rather prefer sharp

edges.<br>I know that TCN400 or XP2 are recommended for their low

contrast, but I would prefer real B+W (...except maybe when everbody

advises them).<p>Besides: I want to use a second body for some color

too. I thought I'd use either Reala or a 160 Portrait film. Any

better advice? <br>(I wonder if this gets close to an act of

sacrilege to mention color film in a B+W forum?)<p>I appreciate any

help. Thanks + Greetings.

First of all, the best way to increase contrast is either through the careful use of a filter on the lens during exposure, or during printing. Most conventional films are designed to produce moderate, normal contrast and require special processing efforts to increase contrast without losing shadow detail or risking blocked up highlights.

A red filter will produce the greatest contrast but this may be too severe when shooting at midday. I prefer an orange, deep yellow or green filter for increased contrast during midday sessions.

I'd suggest Tri-X or HP5+ in an ISO 400 film, which will keep shutter speeds reasonable if you decide to use a heavy filter for increased contrast and it becomes impractical to use a tripod. Other folks report good results with Delta 400 - I haven't tried it.