Help Loading Stainless Steel Reels

I am new to film developing. I bought a used darkroom set up that

has stainless steel reels (don't know brand off hand). I tried

loading a roll of 35mm (lights on) and could not get it wound on the

reel without abusing the film. It is as if the interior dimension

(width) of the reel is a little bit more narrow than the width of the

film. What is the trick?

The hardest part is making the first turn when you start. I stuff my thumb in the bottom of the core and my index or second finger in the top. Then bend the film around them to get it started threading. I can feel it come around.

Once the film is threading along, don't pull it too tightly or it will slip down one row onto the previously wound film. In fact you can stop winding once in a while and push the film into the reel a little. The film should be loose and sloppy. If it gets tight, one side of the film has probably slipped out of its groove.

Work in total silence with no radio nor running water. You can hear when the film goes wrong.

Finally, if you are using an old reel which someone has dropped, it could be bent. In that case, all bets are off.

I struggled with this for a week in the autumn of 1967. Haven't had any trouble since. Once you have it you will have it forever.

The basic trick is that you have to bow the film a bit to get it to feed into the reel slots. A gentle pinching pressure on the film as you wind will get you what you want. Unfortunately this is one of those things that is far easier demonstrated than described. Also, although it's not particularly likely, you may have a bent reel, which is preventing your success.

Keep practicing in daylight until it becomes second nature, then practice in the dark until it becomes second nature. It usually doesn't take all that long to get the hang of it.

Practice! I started developing my own B&W films about 3 months ago (thanks for all the advice everyone)and ran into the same problems myself.