The Leica "Look" (a LensRental article)

JDMvW

Are we comparing the "look" of Leica v Canon, or the way the cameras process JPEG files?

The look.

There is an obvious difference in how the raw data are processed. There's also a difference in raw data, which however does not need to remain (you're going to proces those raw data, right?) "Both cameras sit at different starting points, but the finish line is the same."

But there is no evidence of a "Leica look".

JPEG images are more then just processed in the camera, they are highly processed and easily customized. It would be more objective to take raw images and compare them using the same processor. I expect to see differences, but as a videographer I see differences between cameras, even the same make and model (many factors affect perceived color, including exposure, lenses, and dominant tones in the subject).

Color aside, the "Leica look" is primarily due to optics, and even more, the subject matter traditionally suited to using a discrete rangefinder camera. The Summicron 50 of my era (mid 60's) sacrificed contrast for sharpness, more effective in B&W than in color. That lens has really good bokeh (before there was bokeh), but not all legacy lenses (e.g. Summitar) could claim that. Each version has a "look".

Edited by Ed_Ingold
  • Like 1

JPEG images are more then just processed in the camera, they are highly processed and easily customized. It would be more objective to take raw images and compare them using the same processor. I expect to see differences, but as a videographer I see differences between cameras, even the same make and model (many factors affect perceived color, including exposure, lenses, and dominant tones in the subject).