Commercial Lab - what do look for

steven_chan3

I don't have time or resources to do my own developing so I need a lab

to do it. I'm a beginner at shooting B&W. I use mostly TMZ and

Tri-X.

What should I look for in a B&W lab? TMZ can be shot at different

speeds. How do labs usually handle this? Do they run each roll of

film separately? What should I look out for?

It looks like each film has it's own developing times (Tri-X vs Tmax

vs. etc) and is different depending on developer used. Are there labs

that will run your film differently depending on type? What should I

ask a lab before I hand over my film and what should I tell them?

Thanks for any help.

I would personally look for a staff that seems interested in what they're doing and doesn't have an "attitude".

A smaller pro lab might be able to actually be open to suggestion if you have any that will help them. The small pro lab that I worked in many years ago would batch process black and white film. They could vary times as needed but didn't typically use multiple developers.