What developer and agitation do you think this photographer is using?

<p>Hi,<br>

Some of you may already be familiar with my obsession with this photographer's work. I am going to teach myself, or re-teach myself, developing film, and was wondering if you could help me with ideas for developers, agitation times, etc., to try to get the same results as Anders Petersen. He is getting a very soft, grainy look, but not blurry, with great tonalities and contrast. He uses Tri-X, with a contrast filter. I guesstimated a green filter with a compensation factor of two, so there already should be some contrast.<br>

Do you think he is pushing in development addition to the high contrast filter? What intrigues me is the softness, with good detail, and the great whites and blacks-is that large grain he is getting? I am a newbie here. <br>

I know experimentation is the key, but could someone give me a starting point? I was thinking Rodinal, but I checked out the online photos by Ralph Gibson using Rodinal and Tri-X, and the grain didn't seem as 'soft'.<br>

I also read that with modern Tri-X using Rodinal at suggest developing times is already 'pushing,' and to under-develop it? Now I'm really confused.<br>

Should I use a fixer? Toner? Once again, agitation times, etc?<br>

Please check out a few of Anders Petersen's prints in this series, "Walking on Water," they are very different. There's only a few:</p>

<p>http://www.tpw.it/portfolio/anders-petersen-venexia/<br>

Thanks, <br>

Lisa</p>

<p> </p>

<p>I'm guessing you're completely new to film if you're asking if you need fixer. BTW, the answer is yes, you need fixer. You always need fixer, if you want to keep the image on the film visible. <br>

Here is one basic resource for developing film - http://www.ilfordphoto.com/Webfiles/200629163442455.pdf <br>