Dropped a Vivitar 283--Repairable?

Greg_Embree

<p>Yesterday I dropped one of my Vivitar 283 flashes on a linoleum floor from about waist-high. Nothing broke from it. Nothing rattles when I shake it. But it no longer turns on and it won't fire when I push the test button. I hate to add this flash to a landfill unnecessarily, but I presume that mailing it off for a professional repair job would cost more than simply buying a replacement for it. Am I right? Also, I wouldn't know to whom to send it. Is this flash unit's problem something I can diagnose and repair at home? I have a Radio Shack multitester and know how to use a screwdriver, but I'm no electronics professional by any means. How would I go about diagnosing and fixing the problem? </p>

<p>You can buy a used one for about $40, so I would definitely not pay anyone to repair it. As Robert says, I would check the batteries. Maybe take the sensor off the front and put it back on again. Maybe try fresh batteries. Maybe try it with and without an external high voltage pack if you have one. Beyond that would really be exploratory surgery and probably not worth the trouble. BTW, I have 283 and I think three 285 units and love them.</p>

<p>My damaged 283 won't work on batteries; the ones I tested it with are 100-percent fresh. I tried firing the flash with the VP-1 Vari-Power module and the standard Auto-Thyristor sensor installed. No dice with either, at least in battery mode. I even tested it with different battery carriers--those things that one slips the batteries into before stuffing the whole shebang into the flash. <br>

To my surprise and great relief, the flash does work perfectly with the SB-4 AC adapter plugged into the wall. This is a partial victory, because it means I can still use it for product photography in my basement, of which I do a lot, and I won't have to dump the flash in a landfill. I already found a replacement 283 for $27.50, for my use on the road. <br>