should I buy a macbook pro or pc to edit in lightroom?

<p>Hi all<br>

I am considering buying a 15 inch macbook pro with retina display to edit my pics in Lightroom but have some questions.</p>

<p>I know that laptops are not ideal for photo editing but while I am a serious-ish photographer, I am not a professional and, after a long day's work at a desk, I like to edit my photos sitting on a sofa at night!</p>

<p>I would prefer 17 inches to 15.4 but apple don't do 17 inches any more, yet I am inclining towards apple for four reasons: (a) I hear they're fast, (b) I hear the screens are great for picture editing, © I've had various frustrations with windows over the years, and (d) windows 8 in particular looks counter-intuitive.</p>

<p>But if I do go apple that will be a big change for me since I've so far been using a Dell Inspiron 1720 (1920 x 1080 resolution), which I've liked, though it's 7 years old and now sluggish.</p>

<p>I'd REALLY appreciate for any advice regarding any or all of the following questions -- thanks VERY much for your time in advance!</p>

<p>1. Is the macbook pro really a good deal better than the competition, regarding in particular itsscreen and speed? (It better be for the money!) One photographer told me she didn't like the retina display because it meant things looked very different on the screen compared with when printed. Is that right and a worry?</p>

<p>2. I take it that, as someone with a LR for pc license, I don't need to pay more to install LR for mac on it?</p>

<p>3. I take it that it would be straightforward transferring my pics and catalog from a pc to a mac?</p>