Which DSLR system for R lens??

ishik_tuna

<p>More full frame DSLR's appear to be coming on the market. I have been using my R glass on a 4/3's system for several years, and it's been ok, but i really want to be able to use my wide angle gear as it was intended.<br>

The cost and bulk of the MK5 doesn't appeal to me.<br>

Nikon and Sony now have full frame DSLR's that appear smaller and lower priced.<br>

I assume Canon will shortly/eventually announce a prosumer FF DSLR as well.<br>

Any advice? Who has experience with the leitax conversion? or the other adapter. Will the sony accept R lens?<br>

The nikon with the leitax adapters installed looks intriguing.<br>

What would you do? <br>

No, I do not want to use the upcoming R-M adapter and get a digital M.</p>

<p>I have been using third party manual focus lenses, but only new ones with native mount for my FF camera. I don't have any personal experience using R lenses on a DSLR body. <br>

That said, my impression is that Canon is the most popular DSLR system to use with Leica R lenses due to its favorable mirror clearance. You can find good compatibility info, discussion on adapters and interesting links <a href="http://www.pebbleplace.com/Personal/Leica_db.html">here</a>. </p>

<p>Of the DSLRs, Canon offers the best experience with foreign-mount manual-focus lenses not only due to its shorter flange distance (compared to Nikon, in particular) but also because Canons behave very intelligently when an EF-compatible electronic lens is not present -- they simply fall back to stop-down metering and display "0" for the current aperture. This is exactly what you want. I shot for a while with old Nikon lenses on a Canon 5D Mark II, using both manual and aperture-priority modes, and it worked out very well.</p>