Help me decide - DSLR vs V1

mallik

<p>At the outset, let me announce I have been spoilt by Leica rangefinder M6 TTL (don't throw me out of this forum). I cannot afford a Leica digital anymore.<br>

I have, from my film Nikon camera set up 50mm f1.8, 24mm f2.8, 70-210mm f4.5, 500mm f8 mirror lens and host of filters etc. I realized these add up to a lot of value if I have to replace them now. I enjoy using ALL of these lenses. So one idea, is to buy a low end DSLR like D3100 and use all these lenses. I have no qualms using manual lenses with no AF. I grew up on them! I will get to use all my lenses and will fairly cover all kinds of photography, like I did in the past, and deliver (hopefully) very good results on the APS-C and large camera. BUT, I hate large cameras; not just about weight but the barrier they create for being able to use in a casual conversation with people informally or at events. I am a serious hobbyist, and shoot all kinds of photography, but my MOST interest is in candid/people photography (perhaps cover 70% of my photography). For this kind of candid photography, I feel the Nikon V1 suits me best - small, fast, does not distract my target etc. I LOVE small cameras (just as I did the Leica). But I am worried, the V1 does not provide shallow depth of field, which I used all the time with the Leicas, and enjoyed shallow DOF, got some good photographs. <br>

Question is, is it possible to get very nice people photographs (environmental) with very wide DOF? How much okay is it to have all your photographs with near same long DOF? Unable to decide between versatility of DSLR vs convenience of the V1 (I have been bowled over by Steve Simon review of V1). What would you advice?</p>

<p>I cannot speak about the V1, the only I can say is that again and again every new little camera released is born fast enough, good enough and reliable enough for the first time, in comparison with SLRs before, and now, with DSLRs...</p>