Love and hate? How do you feel about Flickr and other pro photographer sites?

clara_liu

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

<p>I meant like the interface... as a photographer, I want to create something new for phorographers, by photographers to showcase our work/share/ whatever you like to do.</p>

<p>I find Flickr too cramped. and I get distracted by all this crap that's on the site :/</p>

<blockquote>

<p>I meant like the interface... as a photographer, I want to create something new for phorographers, by photographers to showcase our work/share/ whatever you like to do.</p>

</blockquote>

<p>Ah, so you've come onto this photo site to gather marketing research for a photo site you wish to start.</p>

<p>Subtle.</p>

<p>Doing market research on this site will only result in a site just like this. :-) </p>

<p>I recall FedEx giving guided tours to many of its competitors including UPS, DHL, Emery, Purolator, even USPS whose inefficiency was a catalyst to Fred Smith starting FedEx. There's enough room in the world for another photo site and everyone's entitled to risk a disproportionately high failure rate to try. </p>

<p>My thoughts:<br>

1) As others have said, Flickr is not a pro photography site.<br>

2) For me personally, as a retired pro still taking photographs for fun, putting pictures on Flickr is like burying them in an unmarked hole in the middle of the desert.</p>

<blockquote>

<p>Flickr is dying. Participation in the forums has slowed to a trickle.</p>

</blockquote>

<p>It's funny, I find myself going on Flickr far more often than Photo.net because it's really slowed down here in the last year or so. I'd say it's slowed everywhere actually.</p>

<p>I've found a number of useful things about Flickr<br>