CPS Members--How is the Quality of Repair?

picturesque

<p>Recently, I sent my 5D in to Canon Irvine for a major overhaul--shutter replacement, mirror box replacement, and anything else that needed replacement, which turned out to be the big dial plus a few other parts. Being a wedding photographer, I planned for the absence of the camera for a lull in my schedule.</p>

<p>The camera went in, and came back, in (I thought) very good time--about a week and a half including shipping. I tore the package open upon receiving it, and of course, put in a battery and turned the camera on. I've previously noticed that technicians do a final test of the camera with no CF card in place. So I shot an image, then turned the "Shoot without CF card" setting to OFF, and put in a CF card. I was greeted by a "No CF card" message, even though I had a CF card in place. Yes, no matter what I did, I could not get past that message, and hence, could not get very far in testing anything else.</p>

<p>So I call Canon Irvine and get set up to send the camera back. I got a prepaid shipping label and instructions. So far, it was irritating to find I had to send the camera back, but otherwise, I thought the procedure was reasonable. Then came the unreasonable parts.</p>

<p>First, the label can take up to 2-3 days to appear in your e-mail. Then, after you get the label, box up the camera and send it off--regular UPS ground, by the way--which takes 3 days, Canon claims it can take another 3-5 days for them to get around to opening the box. In my case, 'something happened' (rep's description) and there were supposedly pallets of broken photo gear stacked up at Canon to be opened. He also told me he couldn't even contact the Irvine facility because the 'lines are down'. Finally, I get another Work Order number and my camera is entered into the system.</p>