First DSLR, used 300D?

cps

<p>Okay I have a few questions, that might seem utterly foolish to most of you however I still consider myself new to the digital world. I've only had a Canon SX120 digital camera for about a year now, though I've been shooting film with Rebels since I was about 18 years old. Anyways I was strongly considering getting a bridge camera, either the Panasonic FZ35, or Fuji S200 EXR, however after doing some reading I had begun to consider going to DSLR route. However it will be a used DSLR as I just cannot afford a new one at this time. I have 3 working lenses for my Canon at the moment, the 50mm 1.8, a 35-80mm 3.5 (which actually though a kit lens is pretty good) and a Cosina 28-210mm zoom, which seems to be working at the moment. (though it has it's moments when it doesn't work). For now I'd like to keep the price as low as possible on a body and was thinking of either a Digital Rebel (300D) or an XT (350D?), I don't care if it's a Japanese KISS or a European model as long as the menus are english what do I care? Okay, couple of questions now:<br /> Seeing as how the 300D is an older model, will it really give me better IQ than say the Panasonic FZ35? This might seem like a dumb question, and I do have a basic grasp of sensor size etc, but I don't want to get a 300D only to find out it just can't do what a newer zoom camera can. Again probably a stupid question I know.</p>

<p>Second, is there that much a difference between a 300D and an XT? one is 6.3 MP the other 8, does that make much of a difference? I'm pretty sure it's going to come down to either of these two bodies, the XTi is still pretty pricey almost approaching a new XS. But a 300D or XT can be had reasonably cheap.</p>