Nikon lenses for family portraits

aschwinghammer

<p>Hello,<br>

I am trying to advance my experience and portfolio and will be photographing a family for free at the end of this week. I currently have a the Nikon D5000 kit lens (18-55mm) and the 55-200mm lens. <br>

I will be taking some candid shots as well as posed, and was wondering if I am better off using my 200mm lens for the posed shots and the 18-55mm for the candid shots?<br>

I want to be able to take the most amazing pictures i'm capable of for them, even though they know I'm a beginner. Thanks for your time and advice!<br>

Amanda</p>

<p>Amanda, the Nikon 35 mm f/1.8 is you best choice for a family pictures. It is very cheap ( $200.00 ) and an excellent lens. I have heard a lot of very good opinions and matter of fact, I am going to buy one for me this coming weekend. I do have the 50mm f/1.8 but it is too long for a group so I guess the 35 mm would make a good choice for you. The 18-55 mm that you have, is also another good lens for this kind of pictures. Don't hesitate to use it. </p>

<p>For a group, you will need some depth of field to make sure all the people are in focus. Therefore, you don't need a fast lens. Your 18-55 should be just fine and its zoom feature will make it easier for you to work quickly, handling the camera technical details while you pose and interact with the group.<br>

For individual portraits, you may want to have narrow depth of field. A lens that can do f2.8 would be really nice. The 35mm f1.8 will be good, but you may prefer a longer focal length. A good choice would be 50 mm. I believe the D5000 does not have a built-in motor and therefore will only autofocus with AF-S lenses. Therefore for 50mm lenses, you're forced to buy the 50mm f1.4 AF-S at $440 instead of the otherwise adequate but really cheap $120 50mm f1.8.<br>

To really distinguish your photos, you need to control the lighting. Are your shots outdoors or indoors?<br>