New experiment, need camera recommendation (silent 16mm movies)

cole_paquette

<p>I was not quite sure of where to put this, so I set it in beginner as I am new to this idea.<br>

I just started experimenting with silent 16mm movies-and I must say, it is quite fun. a photograph tells a story, but a film, even silent, is a book series.<br>

I was planning on doing some modern-style art pieces with the camera, and I won't be using sound, so sound sync, sound recording, etc is not needed. not is a quiet camera.<br>

But I need to get a camera, and some advice on the ones on my list would be nice.<br>

basic list:<br>

Bolex H16 (most any model)<br>

Bolex 16 EBM<br>

Beaulieu R16 Automatic<br>

and for if I can get the money or get one cheap enough:<br>

Aaton XTR Prod<br>

Arri 16 SR2/SR3</p>

<p>and someone local has an Arri 16 S for sale, no lenses, but it has the motor, body, cord, matte box, and three caps for the turret.<br>

they want less than $100 for it. How much would cheap lenses and the battery or AC power adapter run me, and would it be a good thing to grab? It is in working condition, just some bad paint scratches and peeling-only cosmetic damage.</p>

<p>thanks for the help-I have no experience with motion cameras and need all the help I can get.</p>

<p>I'd look for a used Bolex H16 Rex 4 or 5. The through the lens reflex viewing takes much of the guess work out of follow focus.</p>

<p>The Beaulieu is a great camera also but I'm not sure you will find working batteries anymore. The Bolex, being spring wound has no battery requirements unless you use one of their motors.</p>

<p>Any accessory for the Arri will be expensive, but a search for C-mount lenses on EBay might give you an idea of what you're facing.</p>