Do I need a Starter for Kodak's color print developer?

<p>According to Kodak's Technical Pub's, The Ektacolor RA Developer Replenisher RT (10 litre size) is recommended for tray and rotary development, but it seems you have to use a Starter. On the other hand the RA developer in the 1 gallon size doesn't need the starter, but it's not recommended for the applications. Anyone having experience with this? <strong> </strong></p>

<p><strong><br /></strong></p>

<p>The 10 litre kit works fine at 20C/68F without a starter for tray and drum processing. There is a slight colour shift, but it is so consistent you can mix up a new batch a few months later, expose another print at the same magnification, exposure and filter settings and not be able to tell which print was done when after drying. I have no experience with using either at book temperature. Have a browse around apug.org for info and recommendations as well as well.</p>

<p>You do not need a started, but make sure you dilute the Replenisher as per the directions on the starter. I almost always use the starter, but before I bought the jug it worked fine without it.</p>

<p>I disagree. Use the starter. It will last you nigh near forever. WithOUT it, how are you supposed to replenish the solution? You can't. . . You'd need to have hyper-concentrated replenisher if you're using straight replenisher as a "working solution." I hope you aren't just dumping it all down the drain and using one-shot, because that is a huge waste of your money!</p>

• 6 years later...