What is similar to HP5?

I'm relatively new to film photography and have grown attached to Ilford HP5+

(especially because it is forgiving to maltimed development). But it's

expensive. I look at websites for the bighouses and see bulk film in 100ft

lengths going for half the price.

Can anyone tell me if other films are similar to HP5+? I've tried Tri-X and it

seems similar (especially in development), but Tri-X costs the same as HP5+. Is

there any cheaper alternative?

The cheaper alternatives are just not worth the savings IMHO. You mention that HP5+ is forgiving to development. I agree. I tried cheaper films, like Fortepan, and found that they were not near as forgiving. Highlights blown, blocked shadows, etc.

There are cheaper alternatives, but there are compromises that you must be willing to make if you want to use them. Bargain basement films may not be as consistent from batch to batch. Grain will often be more prominent. Technical documentation will almost always be more sketchy, never approaching the level published by the likes of Ilford, Kodak, and Fuji. Quality control and R&D cost money and those costs are passed on to the consumer. In return, the consumer usually gets a superior product with better customer support. Ultimately, you have to ask yourself if the compromises are something you are willing to accept.

I've recently taken to using the re-branded Foma films sold by Freestyle under the Arista.EDU Ultra label. The ISO 400 film is a bit more grainy than Tri-X or HP5+, but not bad otherwise. I've read some good reports about the ISO 200 film, and am looking forward to giving that a try as well. The ISO 100 film looks good to me in medium format, and I've had no problems with it to date.

Try a few rolls of the stuff. If you like, then you'll have a cheaper alternative for at least part of your film needs. Twenty bucks for 100 feet of 35mm film is what I call a real bargain these days. At that price how could you not try it?