Noob Here...

kevin_wood4

<p>Hey Everyone.... I just bought a Canon SX10 IS, and I am new to photography. A few things to start with...</p>

<p>Any tips, like/dislikes, comments, anything on the camera?<br>

Would a higher class SDHC Card make Continuous shooting faster?</p>

<p>Thanks everyone :)</p>

<p>Kevin,<br>

We're all n00bs in one way or another. Doesn't matter. Take your camera, and enjoy it. Don't worry too much about the camera, but first and most important, enjoy photography.</p>

<p>That's all. I don't own an SX10 and even if I had one, what I like or dislike could be utterly irrelevant for you. The main thing is to use it, get your own feel for it. Take photos of things you like to see, and as you see them. That tip always works, regardless of camera ;-)</p>

<p>Continuous shooting won't be much faster with faster SDHC camera, at best it will slow down less after the first burst of shots.</p>

<p>Hi Kevin,<br>

A higher quality card would not necessarily mean continuous shooting is faster, but a faster card would certainly achieve that to an extent. Your camera might have a buffer of sorts if there is an internal memory. That in itself might not be speeding up with new faster card, but it might help. The Lexar and Sandisk Extreme cards seem to get good reviews here. I have no need for speed personally, so tend to buy larger card for less money.<br>

If you are new to photography it might be an idea to read the manual inside out! Please don't feel that I am being patronising here but you could find out so much about photography and the capability of your camera from reading the manual alone. Since you are new to the world of photography, it is possible that some concepts mentioned in the manual might not make sense. That would be the time to type in such terms in the search string here or in google. If you are totally out of depth, ask a question here.<br>