Kodak Tri X films

eric_mogren

<p>I would like some input regarding the difference you find between Kodak Tri X 100 and Tri X 400, aside from the film speed.</p>

<p>I am new to medium format/120 film and am looking for a good, "old school" film. I used this film in 35mm occasionally years ago, but I can't remember much about it. I shot color for decades, and I remember that the slower films always produced better -- richer, more saturated, simply more beautiful -- results for me, although the slower film speeds made taking some images more difficult. (Kodachrome 25 was my all-time favorite film.) Does the 100 speed film produce noticeably richer images than the 400, so as to make it worth the trouble of a slower film? What is your experience using the two films? Do you recommend any other films besides these?</p>

<p>I will not be processing my own film (yet), and am most likely to be shooting outdoors. I want to find a versatile, "hobbiest" film. I am prompted to this inquiry because I am planning a trip to Portugal in a few weeks, and am taking my new/old Rolleicord V with me to shoot wonderful street scenes, gardens, etc. I will not have a tripod.</p>

<p>Thanks for your help to this B and W newbie!</p>

<p>Eric</p>

<p> </p>

<p>I've never heard of tri-x at anything but ISO/ASA 400. Sure you aren't thinking of TMAX? I guess you could consider plus-x at ISO 125 as kind of the low speed Tri-X.</p>

<p>Tri-X is definitely old school, though they reformulated it not too long ago. Still think it's a pretty great film, at least in 35mm.</p>

<p>Are you comparing Tri-X 400 to T-Max 400 or Tri-X 320? 320 is being discontinued in 120, so I wouldn't really bother learning how to use it now. Tri-X 400 is a great traditional film and is very flexible. T-Max 400 was recently upgraded and is a new tech film with tabular grains. Supposed to be dynamite, but is more sensitive to processing than Tri-X is (from what I understand). </p>