How To Get A Business Name?

alaine_mangabay

<p>Okay, so I want to get a business name and start getting things going, but I have no idea what to do or where to go. What are the steps exactly on getting a name for a business? I do not want to use my first and last name for the business. Is it hard or take long to get a name? Oh, and what are the laws or rules on getting a name, for example someone already having the name? Do I have to find a name that no one else has, or just that no one in my area has it? Sorry for so many questions at once, but I only have one more. I can still start doing all this while still in school right? I am about to get my AA in photography and a certificate in weddings and portraiture, then plan on getting my bachelors. I have been doing little side jobs, mostly for family and friends, but they are starting to spread the word around that I am a photographer so I wanted to get things going. I live in California by the way, not sure if that matters but just in case. Thank You!</p>

<p>Since you're a taxpaying resident in California, you might as well get your money's worth and talk to your state's <strong><a href="http://www.sba.gov/localresources/district/ca/">small business administration</a></strong>. This is entire their reason for being - to answer questions just like these, for people that live in your state. Every state is different, so that's the place to start.</p>

<p>In Calif, you can find State Tax info (you have to charge sales tax if you deliver product in Calif) at http://www.boe.ca.gov/</p>

<p>Be sure to download and read their publication 68, which relates directly to photographers http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub68.pdf</p>

<p>Many (most) cities have local tax requirements and most banks will require a business license or resale permit before you can open a checking account in a business name. Which is sort of a requirement if you're doing business under a business name not your own.</p>