Still waiting for a digital F100, what would you do?

rob_malkin

<p>Hi guys,</p>

<p>Its been a long old while since I have posted on here! I have just finished my physics degree and have finally been feeling happy and taking pictures again. Nothing like maths to turn you off being creative.<br>

Anyway,<br>

Just for background;<br>

I own;<br>

Nikon F100 (F80 for when in the bad part of town)<br>

Nikon D70<br>

20mm, 50mm, 85mm, 180mm, 17-35mm</p>

<p>I mostly shoot people/street and print up to 10*15" with a rare print going to 20*30". I am not a pro.</p>

<p>Anyway, I used to get all my film and printing free (long story). And my favourite film was Kodak C41 B&W print film, and Fuji Superia 400 print film. For my print size, it was more than enough. And the "feel" of the Superia was beautiful.</p>

<p>Resolution is not very important to me. Colour, dynamic range and low light performance is. So, I am sure its no real surprise that the D70 did not really turn me into digital.<br>

Now that I am paying for my printing moving to a digital format makes financial sense to me. But, should I wait?</p>

<p>I have been looking at the D700, but would like to know if it would do what the F100 could (the F100 to me is one of the best cameras I have ever used, even over an F5).</p>

<p>I know this question is a little irregular, but should I wait till I have a D5 or what have you, that will do what I need it to do?</p>

<p>Hope that this all makes sense.</p>

<p>Thanks for reading.</p>

<p>Rob</p>

• Replies 77
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

<p>Is the camera more important to you than the photos you take? In that case, keep the F100 and enjoy it.</p>

<p>If you're really into taking photos, buy the D700. It's not an F100, but then, there will probably never be another F100. Times change, and so do cameras. In most peoples view, the D700 is more or less as good as it gets.</p>