new to 4x5 processing

bennie_nickolas_hinojos

<p>I was wondering what other people have used to develope 4x5 black and white negs? I was going to just use the tray method since I am not going to be taking that many pictures at any given moment. But I know that you can only do one at a time, until you get really good with trays and then you are able to add more negs. But i saw some other forms of developing that I just don't know about? I am really new to large format and I am just finding it hard to convert from roll to sheet film. But I love the camera and the quality of print it can produce. So just wanted to know what are some of the other peoples experience with the many other types of developing devices. Also some look foreign to me so I am not even sure what are the different steps to loading the undeveloped film? Thanks everyone for lending me some of your experience and knowledge.</p>

<p>I've used the 12 sheet Yankee-type tanks for years. They're great. They don't hold enough developer for a full 12 sheets, so I put no more than 10 at a time. I tend to collect my personal 4x5 work until I have enough to process 10 at a time.</p>

<p>You can do more than one sheet of 4x5 in trays at the same time; get a copy of <em>The Negative</em> by Ansel Adams & Robert Baker for complete instructions in performing this properly. It does, however, increase your risk of scratches, etc. if not performed absolutely correctly--or in the case of accident.<br>

However, the best way to do your own 4x5 is with a JOBO unit and a 3010 expert drum. That's also the most expensive method, unfortunately.<br>

I currently use an HP Combiplan T for B&W 4x5. It works well enough. It will do six sheets at once, but it's suggested that you do no more than four at a time for best quality. The advantage over trays is that it reduces the risk of scratches and, even more importantly, you can do it in daylight once you load the film.<br>

They run about $85 at B&H.</p>

<p>Bennie -<br>