How much do I charge?

darylann

I'm being "courted" by a well-known racing organization to photograph a series of their events. This is a new venture

for me, as I've been doing mostly portraits and weddings for 10 years, as well as my own outdoor photography. I

don't want to give too many details here, as they've been using the same contracted photographer for several years,

and I'm not sure yet why they're asking me. But I'd sent them some of my shots I took at one of their sanctioned

races and they were impressed, and are now talking about sending me a contract! So far, we've been corresponding

only via email, but they want me to call and talk to the head honcho there today.

Sorry for being so wordy here, but what I really want to find out is what I should consider fair payment and terms

when being hired for such events. It will involve travel and overnight accomodations, too. I'm eager to break into

motorsports photography, though I don't have much experience in it. But I don't want to "give it away" either.

Any suggestions? Thanks!

"How much do I charge?"

As much as the market can bear.

You need to break it down into two broad categories; Fees and expenses.

Fees includes prep time, travel time , and crative fee. The creative fee is based on a combination of how you

value your time and possibly usage fees if the photos will be used for advertising.

Expenses includes everything else:

travel; lodging costs; a per fixed diem rate for food; assistants (if you use them); equipment rental fees; and

especially image lprocessing costs ( in these digital days this is pretty much based almost purely on a valuation

of your time spent editing (culling) adding caption information ( AKA "meta data") and processing, but the cost

of digital shooting and processing --digital media (CF and SD cards, CD-r or DVD-D disks, computers ,

displays, software, card readers, cameras and storage -- cost something and like any other tools in any other