Advice needed: M6 or M7 and Lens combinations?

jeff_kim3

Hi

I am new to Leica M and wanted to know what your thoughts were on the M6 / M7 combinations as a starter..<br><br>

<b>M6 + Leica 50mm f2 or f1.4 OR 35mm f2.0 or f1.4 (1.4s being available at decent price)</b><br><br>

<b>M7 + Voigtlander f1.2 or f1.4 OR Zeiss 50mm f1.5 (maybe Zeiss 35mm f2)</b><br><br>

I have been spoiled using DSLR and trying to make my way back to film (but not back to film SLR). <br><br>

Also, how does M6 with 200xxx or below camera fair? <br>

Finally, how can you tell how old the lens are via serial?<br>

I have thought about going for the cheapest since I am a novice but I would want to avoid the headache of getting a camera that i would

need to CLA or fix. <br><br>

Thank you

it's flat out silly to pay the money for a leica body and then get a Voigtländer or Zeiss lens - either save a few bucks, get a

Bessa R2/R3 and the Voigtländer or Zeiss glass, or get an M6/35mm combo. If you really like the 50 perspective better,

may that, but 35 is a better fit for a lot of RF shooting for a lot of folks. Then, if the bug sticks, pick a few Voigtlander

lenses. And if you find it's not your cup of xtol, you can get most of your money back.

The reason to get a Leica is its durability and dependability. It's the best! That's why they're carried by journalists as prime or backup cameras. There are often lenses besides Leica that will shoot every bit as well as you do. Several of the Zeiss lenses will out resolve and focus many of the Leica lenses, and even CV has some winning lenses. If you wan t a fast 50, the CV 50/1.5 is second only to the Leica asph summilux.

The m6 is more mechanical than the m7 and therefore a better choice for durability.

Honestly I am no expert but from what I have read the differences between the M6 and M7 are marginal at best. I would

get the cheaper body and nicer glass. Personally I often find myself drooling over the 50mm f/1.4. I just bought an M2