tilting the front or tilting the back or both

tak_l._poon1

Tilting the back alters perspective and focus, while tilting the front just controls the plane of focus.

Tilting the front moves the image circle (using up coverage), while tilting the back moves the plane of focus within the stationary image circle (doesn't use up coverage).

It depends on what you want/need to accomplish in a given shot.

Tak, I am fairly new to LF but will try to answer your question. If the object is upright (tall building is the usual

example) and you want it to remain that way in the print, the camera back should be parallel to the object. i.e both

upright. Tilting the back one way would make the top of the buiding bigger and vice versa if you tilt the back the

other way. In this case you would use the tilt/swing of the lens to adjust the focus plane. If the perpspective is not so

important, you could use front, back or both. There is plenty of reading on this subject on the web and many books

have been written about it. Google view camera movements and you will find loads of stuff. Also try to imagine the

image coming through the lens and getting bigger as it comes towards the film back. As you move one part of the

back further away, the part of the image that will fall on that part of the film will be getting bigger the more you move

the back away from the lens. Also imagine a plane of focus parallel to the lens and film when everything is in

its "normal" position i.e no movements. When you swing or tilt the lens the focus plane will move in the same

direction but will not be parallel to the lens. That is to say the focus plane will move to a greater degree than that

which you have moved the lens. Others could probably explain this much better than that and as I am fairly new to it

and a little knoledge is a dangerous thing, I suggest you keep reading, get some books and use some film and look

at the results.