Walking Trip (100 miles) and 'Suitable' Film

Hiya,

I have searched the archives and gleaned a lot of useful information to narrow down the following decisions but I

was wondering if any one has had prior experience...

By way of quickly introducing the premise, in a month's time (just under in fact) I will be walking the South

Downs Way in Southern England, which is 100 miles in length from Winchester to Eastbourne. I actually live part

way along just south of the trail in Worthing, so I know the trail pretty well but all the same I have never

walked it in one go before, and will not be using any motorised transport. In other words -- this is a pretty big

deal for me, I'm very excited and very much intenht on capturing this properly. As such I will be taking my Canon

EOS 3 in tow.

I am a pretty experienced amateur photographer and have been passionate about black and white from a young age

and mostly shoot in black and white. In that time I mostly shoot Tri-X, FP4, HP5 or XP2. I do sometimes try dip

into something else but that is the bulk of my work.

My immediate idea was to order at my local shop 10 rolls of HP5 as I think that I will appreciate the extra speed

and the feel of grain in the photos, I'm not out to create the most grain free photos here! The eventual outcome

is to create a photo book, about 8x10 in size and have it done up properly, I may even 'self publish' it but it's

more of a document for me and my family and friends than anything.

Looking around I've held off from ordering the HP5 as I have also this crazy notion of trying something new

having been impressed by comments on here and results I have seen on-line and to some degree in person.

Lens wise I'm not 100% certain yet but I think it is very likely I will be taking two manual focus Takumar lenses

(via M42 mount), a 35mm Super Multi-Coated at f/2 and my beloved early 60s pre-set Tak 135mm f/3.5 which is a