Use of 510-Pyro

Depends upon your definition of 'extensive'.

Since it's a roll your own developer and not available commercially, I would opine to say - no.

Among those who have tried it, I would venture the guess - yes. It has very welcomed properties. It's cheap and in 'stock' solution last forever. It's also a very fine grain and tanning developer. However, with it being unavailable commercially, there is limited availability to the common darkroom worker.

I guess you'd have to be more specific in your definition of 'extensive'.

You are right, James. Compared to the most prominent developers of today, 510-Pyro hardly counts. When it was first introduced by Jay de Fehr there was a growing population of users. I was just wondering if that population has decreased, increased, or what have you. There may be no way of knowing.

I have been using 510-Pyro exclusively for over two years and have found no reason to change as long as the chemicals are available. At least I don't live in fear of Kodak discontinuing it!

I still use 510 Pyro that I made a few years back. But after it's used up I will be sticking with PMK. 510 pyro is one of the best on the market but I just don't have the time to be mixing power like I use to and love how simple PMK works for me. For me!<div>00PXU7-44449584.jpg.536c6d3de0f4b43124a54959d8a9234c.jpg</div>

Hello gentlemen,