Any way to boost -very- underdeveloped film?

Hi all.

Longtime lurker, and you all have been very helpful to me on more than one

occasion...

Here's the situation:

I work in a lab, and we process film with a Jobo.

Turns out one of our tank lids is just a little bit busted, and leaky.

So, i processed a roll of T-max 3200, and it came out pretty transparent, as the

developed leaked out before it could do its thing. Unfortunately, the fixer did

a much better job than the developer, and fixed the film pretty well.

There are a few frames that have -something- on them, but they are very, very faint.

The customer is (justifiably) pissed off, and refuses to believe there's really

not much that can be done.

I have seen it suggested that one can bump up the contrast of very thin negs via

toning with selenium, but I have also seen it said that selenium won't help.

Any thoughts on this? Is there some secret magic bullet to getting more info off

this film that I don't know about?

Looks like we have lost the brain trust for working with film.

I would first try a density boost via bleach and redevelop. You would need to redevelop in a non sulfite developer, I use PMK (pyro) at about 80f, high strength like 4+8+100 as opposed to 1+2+100. I repeat the process twice. You can find a pmk kit from photographers formulary as well as the kit for intensification.

The bleach uses potassium dichromate and the process will improve the density of the film if there is actually something there in the first place.

After you have done the process a couple of times, you can then use either selenium or one last bleach and redevelop in a sluphide toner. This can add substantial density to the neg, but it will be a final step. Once that is done, it is set.

At that point I would scan, process and perhaps use a film recorder on the negative.

Best of luck.

Hi there Robert!

I have a couple questions: