Galleries/Exhibitions

mr. sullen

Interested in answers to this one, myself...actually, I'm meeting w/a Maine gallery owner this afternoon, who originally approached me at the last craft show I was in! Please keep your fingers crossed, say a prayer, send up smoke signals--anything to help the cause! Do you have a gallery exhibit coming up? Your pix are so fantastic...any gallery would be lucky to have you! Good Luck, Buddy.

Visit the gallery. Ask for their submissions information and kit (if they have one).

Submit it with some samples. Act confident of what you are doing and producing but

don't overdo it. Follow up a month or two later if you don,t get an immediate

response. If the gallery cannot (too much work to present) or will not present your

work, ask for a recommendation of a more suitable gallery or exhibition site.

I am no expert on this but if you treat the gallerist with respect he or she will do the

same. My small seasonal gallery has specific objectives (non trendy but interesting

contemporary art) and we have necessarily refused some artists who have gone on to

show in New York and elsewhere, after having taken our suggestions of more ideal

venues for their work. Many gallery owners are there to help artists who are sincere

as well as talented. I have been refused my work and have difficulty showing

elsewhere, but I believe a part of the failure was having followed the gallery

guidelines for submission, and/or of lacking patience.

1) Create a set of around 20 prints, matted to 11x14, and put into a black Century box.

2) Leaving your portfolio box at home, visit galleries, arts commissions, cafes, etc where you

think your work might compliment what is currently offered.

3) Strike up a conversation with the owner/rep/gallerist (when they're not busy dealing with

customers) and inquire if the gallery is currently reviewing new work. If so, make an appointment