covering all types and genres, and I would really like to get them exhibited

somewhere.

I know I'm not likely to get in at the Tait, but any small place would do: a

cafe, a shop, anywhere.

If any of you have had your work exhibited, please let me know how you got your

foot in the door.

Cheers.

Asking would be the first step.

I'm a rookie at this too, but a local library will be doing a display of my panos, probably in February 2008.

For me it came together accidentally... I'd done a talk and book signing there on a fatherhood book early in 2007. This past summer, I took a trip down Route 66 with my 12 y/o son. When I told the librarian about it, she asked if I'd like to speak again.

But then when she saw a pano I'd done of the Meteor Crater (see yesterday's thread in Classic Cameras about Widelux FV), we got to talking and she suggested that a series of pano prints would make a great display. She dug out a 110 y/o pano of the town, and I re-shot it with modern gear. One thing led to another.

I'll also have a display of panos and stereo photos in the small town where I live, for our history-oriented Autumn Fest. Blacksmiths, mountain men, Civil War re-enactors, lost arts..... Again, I was asked by somebody that knew me, in this case the owner of Beeker's General Store (Pemberville, Ohio - the store has a website). They carry my book, and have seen my photos, and one thing led to another.

Funny thing is that my book is about motorcycling with my son when he was young; not a photography book. But there's about 50 b/w photos in there, and I guess people are reading it or at least looking at the photos...

Another potential display is a local historical museum. They've asked if I'm interested, but nothing is firmed up at this point.

Couple local labs that do work for me also display some of my stuff now and then. Similar to the above, in that several of the employees have bought and read my book, and know me. One thing leads to another there, too.