Is Minolta XD-11 an electronic control shutter?

I am quite new to photography. I got a Minolta XD-11 on Ebay. Somehow,

sometimes the shutter does not fire when I am testing it. I took the battery

off, the shutter won't fire at all.

I do not know if this camera is an electronic controlled shutter, or I still

do not know how to use it.

Please give me advise if you either use it or had this model before.

Thanks,

This was one of the common ways the XD series failed in the days when they were current

(yes, I'm that old :). I actually owned a couple of these that I bought new, but within a year of

regular use both cameras exhibited the symptoms you describe. I knew others who had the

same experience. I tossed the cameras and wrote it off to experience. The SRT's that came

before it were GREAT, though. I'm not sure XD-11's are repairable today.

I just picked up a Minolta XD-11. I had it serviced at garryscamera. It currently works fine. Any camera that old you should assume that when you purchase it it will need a CLA & light seals replaced. The Minolta MD lenses are fine lenses and not very expensive. Just to go a little further while we are on the topic of this camera: Has anyone compard the Minolta XD-11 (7, which is the same camera) to the Canon AE-1 & the Olympus OM -1 -2?

Since I own one that I bought through auction, I suggest you return it as non-working to the seller. There are too many listed out there that are working to bother with a non-working one. If that's not possible, then I suggest trying to get it serviced. They can be repaired, but it takes a qualified person or some knowhow to do it. To just throw it away seems a silly waste.

Thanks, Uncle Goose. I tried your advice. It is true. After I take the battery out, put the shutter on B or O, the shutter fires. So, it is a combination of electronic and mechanical shutter. Interesting!

Thanks Malcolm Denton for the hyperlink. It pretty much confirmed what Uncle Goose said.