Good quality B/W film

I just bought a Mamiya 645AF and a roll of Kodak BW400CN and a roll of Fuji Pro 160C 100iso. I haven't

had a chance to try either one yet (I just bought the camera yesterday, and its the first medium format

camera i have "never" used. The only reason I haven't already used up both rolls is I have no filters yet.

Anyway, I was just wondering how the Kodak 400CN compares to the Tri-X in terms of grain and overall

quality. I am completely new to film, but have been shooting DSLRs for a few years.

My feeling is that the Tri-X is going to be grainier than the 400cn, though I do not have my negatives at hand to compare. As for quality though, I prefer the Tri-X over 400CN, and T-max over that. I am sure you know this, but in case you don't, Do not proccess CN in B&W Chemistry. It is a Colour Film and needs to go through C-41. That is the main reason I don't like it too. My prints tend to come back (from the Hour Photo place) with a blue/green tint to them. The nice thing about it is that you can create any tone you like. Provided the Lab tech understands you, or you print them yourself. When I asked the girl at the counter for Sepia toning she said "Huh?"

They have completely different looks, but I like them both. Tri-X is a traditional, moderately grainy B&W film. 400CN is basically a monochrome colour negative film (one black dye layer instead of three colour layers) -- as a result it appears nearly grainless, at the expense of some perceived sharpness.

My suggestion to you is that if you're new to B&W film, you should keep shooting 400CN. It uses a standard process (C-41), in contrast to the many variables that affect B&W film processing (none of which you have control over if you take your film to a lab). Once you are set up to process your own B&W film at home, you can start in with the Tri-X.