Upgrading from stock 18-55mm to 28-135mm IS?

alan_fertmann

This is my first time posting in a photo.net forum.

I recently purchased a Digital Rebel XT as an major upgrade from my previous point-and-shoot, a

Pentax OptioS5i. Some backgroud, so you have an idea about my skill level and how I will be using my

camera:

My girlfriend and I are traveling to Southeast Asia this summer and I wanted a more serious camera for

what will most likely be a once-in-a-lifetime trip. We'll be spending five weeks on riverboats, kayaking,

visiting Buddhist monastaries and temples, hiking, and eating our way through Vietnam, Cambodia, and

Laos and I felt like my Pentax wouldn't really do the trip justice. It had served me well on trips to

Europe and South America and I love how my pictures came out from those trips, but I was ready for an

upgrade and a dSLR was the obvious choice. I carefully researched cameras and kept coming back to

the Rebel XT. After an awful experience with FotoConnection (had I known about these forums, I could

have saved myself a major headache!), I finally got my camera, factory sealed, full USA warranty for a

very decent price.

So...all that said, I'm already thinking of upgrading my lens. I've spent the last few months practicing

on the Canon stock 18-55 lens that comes packaged with the Rebel and I've gotten mixed results in

low-light situations. Also, I'm anticipating having to zoom in on images on this trip and 55mm isn't

cutting it. After researching lenses on the internet, I've been reading a lot about the Canon EF 28

-135mm Image Stabilizer lens. It's in my price range (B&H has it for ~$400...oh, I learned my lesson

and am now researching online retailers :)) and I keep hearing about it being a great "walkabout" lens,

which would be great for this trip as I'd like to bring only one lens.

What is the consensus on this lens? I will probably use the autofocus features on the camera for *most*