I love the look of digital over film -- help.

leo_grillo

As a fine art photographer, I have fallen in love with the look of digital (see my post today under

DIGITAL).

I also love shooting LF (two 8x10s and a 4x5). To make 40x50s out of digital, I have thought about

stitching 17MP shots together to get near the resolution of even a 4x5.

It's the immediacy of the digital print hat I love -- the "being there." If I could match the depth of field

and resolution of LF, but shoot digital for the look, I'd be in heaven.

Then I had a project where I HAD to shoot with a point and shoot camera -- 7MP. I could not believe

the DOF. I tried another brand -- same thing. Yesterday I got my Coolpix 10MP P&S -- same thing

again! It beat out my high end cameras for DOF!

Is the world really flat? Has anyone else lost sleep over this? Have you found an answer? HELP.

Leo

"I also love shooting LF (two 8x10s and a 4x5). To make 40x50s out of digital, I have thought about stitching 17MP shots together to get near the resolution of even a 4x5... If I could match the depth of field and resolution of LF, but shoot digital for the look, I'd be in heaven."

You can do better than 4x5: Try http://www.betterlight.com

The Better Light backs are legendary, but they have their own limitations. The Phase One backs for MF cameras do well also. But if this is the route you intend, do bring a fat wallet.

As to the DOF thing, DOF is related to focal length which in turn is realted to film/sensor size. It's no surprise that DOF increases as film/sensor size decreases. The problem is that as film/sensor size decreases so does the amount of information captured.

This is one of the reasons why view cameras separate the film plane from the lens plane -- so that you can tilt the plane of focus and thus overcome some of the lack of DOF you get by moving to larger formats.

Why would a computer in the field be out of the league for a landscape Photographer?