What film would you have shot at Woodstock?

What film would you have shot at Woodstock?

I ask because I am going to a music festival this summer and I would like to record the event in a

journalistic manner. I'm one of those photographers who got into the game with digital, and only recently

decided I would like to try shooting film. So I have a new (to me) FM2n and some lenses, and think this

would make a good first major project with this camera (obviously, I will use it before then, but this will be

my first big project with it that I would not consider practice for the sake of practice). Another reason to

do this project with this new outfit is that they don't allow what they consider "professional" cameras, so I

think I would be more unobtrusive with my FM2n and a couple AI-S primes than my D70s and 70-200.

Anyway, I will be shooting crowds of people, performances, etc. I'm thinking (but again, I'm new to this

film thing so I may be somewhat off here) that I'll want a film for daytime things and a film for evening/

nightime things. I've done a bit of reading up and came up with these possibilities:

For daytime shots: Provia 100F

For night shots: Pro 800Z

Is shooting a mix of slide and print for the same event not a good idea? I would prefer slide films, but

picked Pro 800Z for night shots because I read its a good, photojournalistic film that can handle mixed

lighting (read: concert lighting) well.

Does anyone have any other film suggestions, or any general advice? Thanks.

Kyle McMahon

At Woodstock, I would have used Tri-X, rated at ASA 320 in that time frame. I wouldn't have given color a second thought. Color was for vacations and fun, not photojournalism, and largely limited to K-25, K-64 or EK-64. I wasn't there (at Woodstock), but that was what I used professionally at the time.