Getting Paid

I recently did a job for one of the largest food companies in the world. The

job consisted of photographing dishes prepared by a chef using this company's

products & the shots will appear in Bon Appetit, Gourmet, Cooking Light,

Martha Stewart Living & the New York Times. I was hired by a top PR firm &

they've informed me several times that the client was "deliriously" happy with

the shots. The shots are already on the company's website as well. So how do

I get paid? We agreed on a price up front for the initial shoot & after the

company changed the recipe on one of the entrees - a price for the re-shoot.

I've snail-mailed & e-mailed invoices to the PR firm & left a few messages

asking them to call me with no response. I'm really new to photography & this

is only my second time I've done food photography. I've never worked for a

company or PR firm this big & I really need some advice here.

Such things have to be negotiated in advance. Unfortunately many large companies still believe it is OK to make people wait three months before considering a bill. After that time follow Art's suggestion. I would have asked for a good sized retainer.

Ellis is right. Most corporations of any size won't pay any invoice unless there is a signed PO. You should have the PO and your terms on the invoice you sent them. "Net 30" is standard, but many corporations consider "Net 60" to be their model. You can call and ask to speak to Accounts Payable - they'll give you the information. It is their job to pay invoices, so they'll work with you. But they'll want to know what PO they are paying against. No PO, no check. Usually it is a simple misunderstanding that can be cleared up quickly, even if you have to go back to the original purchaser and get a PO number after the fact.

Wigwam,

It sounds like he's actually owned his fees by the P.R. agency --who may use the old

song and dance that they are waiting to get paid by the client (bosh.)