The Theory of it All?

First, a little about me: I'm an electrical engineer with no formal or

associated training in the arts. All of my academic and professional

experiences relate specifically to the sciences. However, I've had a paw in

the artistic fishbowl since as far back as I can remember, but I hesitate to

consider myself an artist because of what I feel that title implies. I would,

however, label myself as a creative type who is very visually oriented.

What I am looking for are academic/philosophical texts/sources which delve

more into the formal theory of photography. Not having the actual experience

of a fine arts education, what I'm looking for I am surmising would be found

in the arts curriculum.

Although there seems to be an abundancy of "introductory" type books that

explain the mechanics of how to use the camera, I can't seem to find what I

want where I'm looking. Which is to say at mainstream bookstores. I would

like to look at university bookstores or academic bookstores, but I'm not

quite sure where to start.

So... any advice or books or texts/sources which would satisfy a more academic

thirst?

Jeremy

From my perspective there are three or possibly four good books to start with:

"The Nature of Photographs" by Stephen Shore

"Why People Photograph" and "Beauty in Photography: In Defense of Traditional Values" by

Robert Adams

and possibly:

"Another Way of Seeing" by John Berger

All are blessedly free of jargon and deal with photographs and not literary theorists views

of photography.

Welcome. Others will follow with readings. I'll begin with easy, but provocative starters.

<p>

Begin with <u>Looking at Photographs</u> by John Szarkowski. If the written words do not totally confound you, then you are ripe to appreciate the literature of criticism.<p>

From the POV of the photograph and American media culture, see <u>The Burden of Visual Truth</u> by Julianne Newton.<p>