Pricing question

Thought I would throw this out to you folks. I am not a pro, but I am a pretty

decent photographer nontheless.

My son is a real estate leasing broker in Manhattan (that's is NY City for

those who are not from NY) and as a favor to him, I shot images of some of the

buildings that he represents so that he can post them on his website and in his

brochures. (He is just starting out and broke)

Some of the other brokers in his firm saw my work and decided that my images

were actually better than the ones that they had done for their buildings.

Several have asked me to shoot buildings for them.

The jobs are actually quite easy. Plant a tripod in front, wait for a break in

the traffic and shoot; some minimal PS time to fix keystoning, tweak color, etc

and I have the individual image to give the broker for his use.

Any idea what to charge? I haven't a clue. I don't think I need to retain the

copyright since there really is no future use for the image. I was considering

selling the broker unrestricted right to use the photo as he/she sees fit.

I figure someone on this site has more experience than I in this matter. I am

not concerned with the technical aspects of producing the shot, just the

selling of the image.

If it's just one shot, and they want to own the image, I would probably charge $400 per image per building shoot. That may sound low to some other pros in this forum, usually a buyout as it is called would command a price of $1000 or more, but considering you aren't a pro, $400 sounds about right. You could ask for less, but start there and negotiate down.

Good luck!

Dave

Thanks for your thoughts. Actually, I would be delighted to receive $400 for such a shot, especially since I would coordinate several such shoots in the same day and could stand to earn 1200 - 1600 for less than a days work.

Now lets see, the Nikon 200-400 is about $4500. $4500 divided by 400 means I would need to shoot 11 such gigs.......:)