Help choosing a MF zoom for pentax

yoni_weismuller

Hi

I usually shot with a pentax k1000 mounting a 50mm (or was it 55?:-P)

pentax lens.

Sometimes i've felt the need of a bit of zoom, and i'm searching the

second hand market for such lens.

I've came across the following:

Pentax-A 28-80mm zoom 1:3.5-4.5.

I'm just an amateur photographer, however, used to the sharpness and

lack of distortions of the 50mm, i fear that this zoom may not

satisfy me....but then again i'm fed up of going back and foward

with the 50mm to get the pictures i want :-), so i'm tempted to get

the zoom.

Any ideas? I'm aware it's maybe a kit lens, but i'd like to know if

it's enough for simple hobbytists.

thanks

Why not just buy a couple extra primes, say a 28mm and an 85 or 105mm. They'll have the quality of your 50mm, and probably cost around what the zoom will.

The 28-80 is a slow, variable aperture zoom and will not be near the optical quality of the 50mm.

Yoni,

It sounds like you prefer to hand holding your shots.

Details first. You can check out this lens as well as everything else Pentax has ever made at:

http://www.bdimitrov.de/kmp/

First of all I doubt the zoom lens you are talking about was ever a kit lens, but I may very well be wrong. It takes 58mm filters (if that is an issue) and was made in the days before most optical formulas were computer tested meaning it is a little less likely to be a stellar lens, but that would only be a guess. On the fast end it should be fine without flash if you regularly use ASA400 film in reasonably good light.

It doesn't focus especially close (0.8 meters). Its relatively light (355 g) and by construction looks to be a comfortable lens to manually focus.

Alterantively a couple of primes might be more to your taste in both speed, optical quality and weight.