purified water for film development development? good/bad?

jp dobrin

I've always used tap water for all parts of the film developing

process.. and my results have been fine. But then again I'm a student

and have only used D76 developer with many diff types of film

I've heard of some people using distilled water for latter stages of

the development process.

The only reason I ask is b/c I have easy access to purified water. My

hobby is keeping saltwater (reef w/ live corals) aquariums, which

require purified water. So I have a 4 stage reverse-osmosis unit with

a Deionized attachment at the end.

I'm plan on being more precise with my film development process (ie

using better film developers) and generally want to improve my results.

Should I use purified water for any/all of the development steps where

water is required? or is this just a waste of time?

It's always best to use distilled water for EVERY step of the development (including mixing chemicals and washing). You never know what is lurking in your water that can be harmful to your film/paper. Purified water is ok, but distilled is better. The distilling process apparently eliminates more of the impurities than filtering does. Distilled water does not cost that much and in the long run, aren't your photos worth it?

Distilled or DI water will never hurt your process, and is absolutely consistent (especially if it's good enough for delicate salt water aquarium ecosystems). Consistent is good, both for fish and for film. Assuming the DI water doesn't cost you much, go for it. If it's a lot cheaper (don't know what it costs to run the equipment), it'd probably be fine to take the water off after the reverse osmosis and before the DI attachment.