Pushing b/w film

jordi

Hey folks. I'm new to using b/w film.

I have an Olympus XA, and I'd like to start using it for b/w photography. My question is, I'm

after that contrasty, grainy look. What's my best choice? Push Tri-X 100 all the way to 800?

If my camera goes only to 800, is there a way to push beyond that, or am I stuck? The reason

I ask is, I've heard people saying values as high as 128000, but I don't know which camera

goes that high.

For now, I'm developing in labs, but I might try my luck at bulk loading at using Diafine at

home. Sorry for the long post, thanks!

What size are you enlarging to? If you are in the 8X10 or 11X14 range, you

will get plenty of grain from a Tri-X400 or Delta 400 ,EI400, in Rodinal. Lots

more control, too.

A super contrasty neg will leave you nowhere to go at the printer. IMO, better

to shoot for a full spectrum neg, choose a developer for grain, and use harder

filters for contrast at the printer.

If you are going to have only one developer at home, Rodinal would not be a

bad choice. Long shelf life, highly diluted, one-shot liquid. Cheap, too.

You need to understand what the ISO dial is for. The purpose of the ISO dial is to set the meter so it will read light for any given film's sensitivity to light. Whether you are pushing or not, you can expose the film at 1600 if your meter can only read 800 by simply stopping down 1 stop or using a shutter speed 1 stop faster than the meter says. If extrapolating meter readings bothers you, then I would suggest to get a handheld meter.<p>

Tri-X's box speed is 400, not 100. Rating it at 800 is only a 1 stop push and would not increase grain very much.

Anyone who has accidently set the wrong ISO for the speed of their film knows that setting it lower overexposes the film and setting it higher underexposes the film. If they don't catch it before processing, their medium gray values will be wrong.<p>