Rollei Infrared IR400 focus index.

habsphoto

I have been shooting HIE for 19 years and am testing Rollei IR 400 for an IR workshop that

I am teaching. I have not seen any specifications that explain the exact focus shift of the

film, and after years of shooting IR I have grown accustomed to shifting focus

automatically. I have read some threads for beginners that suggest not worrying about the

shift, and using the DOF of lenses at f16 or f22. That isn't applicable to my style, no

tripod, wide-open, indoors. Nowhere in the Rollei literature does it mention focus. Since

HIE is sensitive at and around 950 and Rollei is sensitive to 850, my gut reaction is to split

the

difference and use a focus compensation point between the visible and IR index mark.

My

HIE technique is 50mm 1.4 lens wide open, shoot at 200ASA TTL, with 25 or 29 deep red

filter, I religiously shift the focus to the IR index, because of the f1.4 aperture. Then I have

the local pro lab machine dip-dunk-process in T-max RS developer the same time temp

as Tmax 100. 95 percent of the shots are correctly exposed with no bracketing, 1 percent

of the shots are worth printing and hanging on the wall if I'm lucky, so I use a fair bit of

film. Rollei might be a possible backup if HIE goes out of production, which wouldn't

surprise me after the Kodak Paper discontinuance (is that a real word?). And I just don't

get the same joy & satisfaction out of digital IR, and that's the whole point, no? Any

thoughts or similar test results would be appreciated. www.schafphoto.com<div>00GDhI-29668384.jpg.1ece7da7d67c578f0eab30934d873a9a.jpg</div>

Rollei IR-400 is sensible till 820nm but in the graphics you can see that above 750nm it's going down fast.

Most IR index on the distance scale are compensated for 800nm. You can use it also for this film.

Due to the less sensitivity of the Rollei film it's also much less critical to load and unload. You can do it in subdue light with this film.