Sample editorial contract?

I have been contacted by a company that wants me to shoot a conference and wants the photos to be

published. Does anyone have a sample contract to help protect myself from them using these for

advertising, etc? Typically the magazines have me sign a contract, but I would like to find one for

personal use. Any publishing rights forms would be helpful as well.

Thanks!

You don't need to have a contract that is anything more than a simple license. For the sum of $X, photographer allows (Client) the (-non-Exclusive) rights to use (Number of selected images) in the following (Media) for (Term) in (Territory) and (Languages). All other rights remain with the photographer and are expressly reserved. This specifically includes (Prohibited Uses).<br>

<br>

I'm only a lawyer in my own mind, and my mind has been forcibly decaffinated.<br>

<br>

Gary Crabbe<br>

<a href="http://www.enlightphoto.com">Enlightened Images</a><br>

<a href="http://www.enlightphoto.com/views">Enlightened Images Views</a><br>

<br>

PS: I have a number of resources listed on my site, some of which may be helpful in general, but I'm 100% sure the <a href="http://www.asmp.org/">ASMP</a> American Society of Media Photographers has sample conracts available for members to use.

• 8 years later...

<p>Is always important to have a signed contract before you do any photo shoots or license any images. That way all is crystal clear and you are protected. Here is a template to go by and adjust it to your own needs. <br>

!. On the first paragraph make sure your contract start with what was agree along with the terms, conditions between you and client. <br>