35 vs.120 processing costs

i've been processing my own 35mm negs for a couple of yrs now...i've

just started doing my own dev&fix for 120 format

just for curiosity purposes,is there comparison in terms of quantity

and costs of chemicals used for 1 session(1 x 120 neg)?

simple calculations: of course it is costy(quantity of solutions

used is larger than the one for a 35mm),but i am curious to find out

if anyone noticed a major difference ...inasmuch as to feel it in

his or hers wallet:-))

i guess it may depend on the tank used(in both cases)too...

any answer would be greatly appreciated

regards

I agree with Jeff. The only possible difference would be amount of developer, and that is dependent on the tank. for instance, since I do 35mm in a dual plastic tank and 120 in a single 120 SS tank, I actually use _less_ liquid for 120 than I do for 35mm (but, of course, I can fit 2 rolls in a dual 35mm tank).

allan

My Paterson "Super System 4" Tank holds three reels of 35mm and two reels of 120 (the same reels could be used for 220 film, containing 24 exposures as against the 12 images for 6X6 120). This tank requires 30 ounces of developer, etc. for 3-35mm rolls, and 35 ounces of developer for 2-120/220 rolls. If your interested, it works out to .277 ounces of developer per 35mm image, and 1.416 ounces per 120 image. I'd still choose the bigger negative.

I've just reread your question: is there a difference between processing costs of 35mm and those of 120 that really makes a major difference, i.e., would the difference in costs affect our choice of format? ...and I see that none of us directly answered it.