Bulk film

Hi all, I'm a college student with a rather tight budget for film. Lately, i've

been thinking about bulk-loading my own film to save some money. Does anyone

have any experience in this topic? Why should or shouldn't I consider this

option to factory-loaded films?

p.s. I live in two countries and travel by air quite often. Would the airport

securities be suspicious of the non-factory packaging?

I have shot thousands of rolls of Bulk loaded tri-x,before the paper switched to factory loads. It used to be a lot cheaper to bulkload then it is now.I still have some ASA 25 film that I bulkload as its not longer available, which I have taken though security without any problems. You get 18 rolls of 36 exp. off of a 100ft roll. In most cases your cost is around half of factory loads. You do have to be careful of dust and light leaks,so be careful.

With reasonable cleanliness and technique you should have no problem bulk loading. The film works out cheaper, but I find the really big advantage is being able to make up short rolls for specific projects. No reason to shoot a 24 if all you need are ten. Yes, you lose the leader, and watch out for the exposed portion on the end, but IMHO it's still well worth it.

I have used bulk film for some time. A bulk loader will cost around 15 USD/EUR or even cheaper as used equipment. You will need a few film cartridges. Unfortunately the lids are no longer removable with a bottle opener as they used to be 20 years ago. Also, almost no photo shop does in-house processing any more - I have received dozens of cartridges from photo shops which had their own lab then.

I once read a suggestion to use film cartridges with a piece of original film reaching out so you can attach your bulk film to that piece.

There are also re-usable cartridges made for bulk loading available but they are not cheap.