Wedding: What ~400iso B&W?

Hello,<br /><br />

I'm an amateur who's been asked to shoot a wedding for friends.

<b>YES</b>, I have <b>strongly</b> encouraged them to hire a

professional wedding photographer.<br /><br />

I have one question at the moment:<br />

I know that colour print films like Fuji NPS and NPH are ideal for

weddings because when exposed properly, they preserve detail in both

highlights (the bridal gown), and shadows (the tuxedos). Unfortunately

the ceremony will be in mixed fluorescent and incandescent lighting,

so black & white is the best option when the flash cannot be

used. What Black&White 220 format film do you recommend for

photographing the ceremony in available light?

Any decent 400 ISO like the Ilford Delta-400 or Agfa APX-400 should do fine. the problem would be getting hold of the 220 Stock. I think the first on the agenda is start asking around for available film stock ..

Personally I prefer old style Silver halide, so I tend to stick with Kodak Tr-X or Ilford HP5+, but IMHO they have too high a contrast for wedding.

Wow. The _only_ b&w 220 film out there is Kodak BW 400CN and Tri-X Pan (the 320 speed variant). It really is getting rare.

I find that, sometimes, in mixed lighting that desaturating color film doesn't always give the results I want. Some of the tones just look a _bit_ off after desaturating. Maybe it's just psychological.

As for getting low contrast, you could use TXP and pull development, or just shoot the 400CN. The C41 stuff is almost always fairly low in contrast.

allan

I specified 220 format because if I photograph the ceremony I'll probably be using a Mamiya C220, which does not have interchangeable film backs. Changing film during the ceremony will likely not be an option.

It looks like I'll probably be using Kodak Professional 320TXP